[blip.tv http://blip.tv/play/AYLYsTIA width=”320″ height=”270″]

Deviating from my regular format to bring you my version of small batch dyeing with a microwave. I dyed the faux cashmere I had spun up, using Cushing’s acid dye in the color “Lavendar”, though I got more of a magenta color.

Dyeing Safety:
Old Clothes
Face Mask – Even non-toxic dust can cause health issues if inhaled.
Gloves
Seperate bowls, utensils, slow cookers and microwave that will only be used for dyeing and NEVER for food use.
Oven Mitts – You will be working with hot water and hot containers!
Natural Dyes are NOT inherently non-toxic! Do thorough research if you choose to experiment with them.

Three Types of Dyeing:
Food Coloring (Kool-Aid, Food Dye, Cake dye)
Commercial Dye (Acid Dyes, Plant dyes)
Natural Dyeing (plants with mordants such as copper, chromium, etc)

Dharmatrading.com – Dyers’ Nirvana
Reduran
Syntrapol

Cushings Dyes, also available from WEBS

If you have any questions about this episode or have any dyeing questions I didn’t cover, please contact me on Ravelry or at kiarapanther at gmail dot com. If I don’t have the answer handy, I will help you find it. I love to do research!

You can find me on Plurk and Ravelry as Kiarapanther
You can also find me on Shelfari and GoodReads (GoodReads currently only shows what books Ive been reading since joining GoodReads. Shelfari has a more complete reading list, though I will be slowly updating GoodReads as well)

Find me on Google+ as kiarapanther at gmail.com and join the Google+ Knitters Database

There is now a Ravelry Group! A Cat and Her Yarn – Let me know what you think of the episodes!

Feed to Subscribe via iTunes: http://blip.tv/acatandheryarn/rss/itunes/ Or now find me directly through the iTunes store

